Apps

Published on November 1st, 2017 | by Guest

0

Developer Explains How iPhone Apps Can Spy On You With Basic Camera Permission

Whenever you install an app on your iPhone, it asks for permission to get relevant information. The information depends on what kind of app it’s. For apps like WhatsApp etc. you are required to allow for contacts, notifications, and mic and camera app. There are a good number of apps that get camera permission as you download and install them. However, quite recently a Google developer has raised concern among the iPhone users that there an app that spies on you with basic camera permissions.

The developer explained in a blog post that as you download, install and give an app permission to use your iPhone camera, you are actually giving it a permission to use your camera when it needs. Even he noted that an app with camera permission can possibly do the followings:

  • Access both the front and the back camera
  • Record you at any time the app is in the foreground
  • Take pictures and videos without telling you
  • Upload the pictures/videos it takes immediately
  • Run real-time face recognition to detect facial features or expressions

The app is actually quite tricky and the users need to be careful while using it. As you install it, it takes photos without your permission and even letting you know. It keeps on spying as long as it is running in the background. To verify what this blogger is saying, a number of websites and bloggers tested the app and they agreed what he claimed. They all shared almost the same information that app spies without your permission and the users have no idea of it at all.

It’s true for all the apps that you install and then they want your permission to use camera app. The experts have recommended the user should not let any apps use their camera app. In case you need to use your camera within an app for a particular use, you can allow it manually in setting and disable the permission when you are done with it. It should be remembered this kills your privacy and everyone iPhone user should note it down.

However, a team of bloggers and developers have contacted Apple to get their comments. We know Apple has very strict rules and policies for its App Store and such kinds of issues are immediately handled. Apple removes all the apps form its App Store that it finds offensive or abusive in any terms. The team is waiting for the response from Apple and the information will be spread as they get any feedback or reply.

So far there has been no such case and anyone has not reported something similar either. But we need to be careful on our end because we don’t know when something bad is going to happen. It’s fact that Apple does take a lot of care of its users and when it comes to the iOS, it’s the best mobile operating system so far. Apple never compromises on the privacy of its users and they never share any kind of information with anyone.

However, despite all the concerns and rumors, it’s better to optimize your phone settings. Only install the necessary and important apps. Using a lot of apps drains your battery and reduces battery life. With limited and only necessary apps, you can maintain your privacy. Further never allow any app to use your camera. Once you give it permission, it’s a go-ahead signal to misuse it anywhere, anytime when you will have no idea at all that what’s happening in the background.

 

Author Bio:

Khalid Irfan is technology geek and having strong believe in sharing knowledge can really change the world, he is the founder of Teckrr.com where he shares the latest updates about technology, innovations and a lot more.

Like this post? Share with your friends.
Share on Facebook4Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+0Share on LinkedIn0Share on Reddit0Share on Tumblr0Share on VKEmail this to someone

Tags: , , , , , , ,


About the Author

Guest

Contribution of guest authors towards Techno FAQ blog



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑