Published on February 11th, 2021 | by Ali Dino


Oracle Cloud Compliance Certifications

Oracle has, time and again, proven to have one of the best clouds in the market. As a company dedicated to ensuring that its clients’ data remains secure, it’s no surprise that it boasts having several cloud compliance certifications from several accredited institutions located in different parts of the globe. Here’s a list of some of the certifications they’ve accorded Oracle.

CSA Star Level 2 Founded in 2008, The Cloud Security Alliance, commonly referred to as CSA, is an organization that aims to promote the top practices for providing security assurance in cloud computing. It also aims to provide adequate information on cloud computing uses to assist secure all other forms of computing. Of the many cloud companies in operation, Oracle is one of the few companies that has passed both CSA Security, Trust, Assurance, and Risk (STAR) level 1 and 2 assessments.

  • The Communications and Information Technology Commission

Based in Saudi Arabia, The Communications and Information Technology Commission is the body charged with registering cloud service providers. To assess the credibility of cloud service providers, the CITC uses a Cloud Computing Regulatory Framework. It’s worth noting that this regulatory framework is based on internationally agreed best practices. Given that Oracle’s cloud infrastructure aligns with the CITC’s framework, it is Level-1 certified.

  • Hébergeur de Données de Santé

The Hebergeur de Donnees de Sante is an audit leading to certification in France. For a cloud service provider to be allowed to do business with clients who control, store, process, or even transmit information of patients in the French healthcare system, it must be accredited by this body. As Oracle has proven to be secure, it has achieved HDS certification.

  • Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act

Passed in 1996, the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, commonly referred to as HIPAA, is a USA legislation. This legislation provides data privacy and security provisions for safeguarding American patients’ personal health information stored by a given entity. Having completed HIPAA third-party assessments successfully, Oracle is one of the few cloud service providers allowed to do business with hospitals all across the country.

  • The Information Security Management System

The Information Security Management System refers to the set of policies and procedures that a cloud service provider has to follow to obtain the go-ahead to operate in South Korea. Being that Oracle has met all the set control requirements, it’s one of the few companies with ISMS certification.

  • The Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India

The Insurance Regulatory and Development Authority of India is the body mandated with keeping track of cloud service providers in India. To attain its goal, this body has established guidelines and requirements for compliance with privacy rules. It is worth mentioning IRDI aims to ensure that sensitive data within the financial services sector remains well-kept. As Oracle’s cloud infrastructure has been proven secure, Oracle is certified to operate in India.

  • Internal Revenue Service Publication 1075

Similar to the Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act, the Internal Revenue Service Publication is a US guideline. However, unlike HIPAA, it focuses on ensuring effective security controls to protect the country’s Federal Tax Information. The confidentiality and integrity of the FTI is of utmost importance. Oracle meets the requirements laid out by the IRS 1075. As such, it is IRS 1075 certified.

  • ISO/IEC ISO 20000 – 1:2018

The International Standard Organization 20000-1:2018 is one of the most important certifications that Oracle has achieved. It specifies requirements for starting, implementing, maintaining, and consistently improving a given service management system.

  • ISO/IEC 27001:2013

The ISO 27001 is a widely adopted global security standard and framework that sets out requirements and best practices for a comprehensive approach to managing company and customer information. It covers the planning, implementation, monitoring, and improvement of an information security management system. Due to Oracle’s Oracle Cloud Information Security Management System’s brilliance, Oracle was awarded the ISO/1EC 27001:2013.

  • ISO/IEC 27017:2015

The ISO/IEC 27017:2015 is referred to as the code of practice for information controls based on ISO/IEC 27002 for cloud services. It sets out cloud service-specific controls, implementation guidance, and other information intended to mitigate the risks that tend to accompany the technical and operational features of cloud services. It also provides guidelines supporting information security controls for cloud service customers and cloud service providers. Oracle is globally recognized for having top-notch security controls. Thus, it is ISO/IEC 27017:2015 certified.

  • ISO/IEC 27018:2014

It was created in 2014 as an addendum to the ISO/IEC 27001. The ISO/IEC 27018:2014 is fully referred to as the Code of Practice for Protection of Personal Identifiable Information (PII) In Public Clouds Acting as PII Processors. It examines a common set of controls as well as security categories that can be implemented by a public cloud computing service provider. In simpler terms, it assists cloud service providers to process personally identifiable information (PII), assessing risk, and implementing controls for protecting PII. Given that the Oracle Cloud Infrastructure has implemented appropriate measures to protect PII, it is unsurprising that Oracle has this cloud compliance certification.

  • NIST 800 -171/DFARS 252.7012

The National Institute of Standards and Technology Special Publication 800-171 provides security requirements. These requirements are aimed at protecting the confidentiality of Controlled Unclassified Information. Oracle has this certification.

Importance of Cloud Compliance Certifications

Before settling on a given cloud services provider, it’s in your best interest to ensure that it has all the above-mentioned cloud compliance certifications. By choosing a service provider with all these requirements, you need not worry about your data being leaked to the public. Also, you need not worry about finding it difficult to access your information as service providers with these certifications never lose customer data.

Time and again, Oracle has proven to be one of the most exceptional cloud services providers in the world. Going by its numerous certifications, it’s safe to say that choosing this company as your preferred cloud services provider would be prudent. If you’d like to know even more Oracle cloud compliance certifications, you should visit Oracle’s website.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

About the Author

I am a professional blogger share guide about the Technology, Internet, WordPress, Blogging tutorial, SEO techniques, and getting traffic to the Site. I love to learn new things related to the latest technology, if you have anything in your mind please do share with me at [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑